In Other Words…

November 23, 2006

COMPASSION FOR A NEW YEAR

Filed under: Community — mrodgersfcs @ 7:29 pm

“Compassion is the keen awareness of the interdependence of all things.” –Thomas Merton*

  

On December 31, 2005 I had two friends over to quietly bring in the New Year with a little food, a toast, and great conversation. Out of the blue I made a statement that went something like “My mantra for 2006 is ‘Passion for Compassion’.” I placed signs in my office with the mantra on them and I attempted to live by the mantra. It’s hard, damn hard. Every time something happens that flips a switch, one can only fight the temptation not to become angry with perpetrators and slum-lords.

Then, if you really take to heart, the quote that appears above by Thomas Merton, things slowly come into perspective. As I write this I have been interrupted with five calls regarding criminal activities in three different districts of the city. Although I am on a hard deadline, I have to act with compassion.

I can’t say, “Not now, I’m busy.” I have to train myself to take a few deep breaths and listen. And when I give them a chance to speak, I understand their need for someone to talk to, someone to take action on their part, because they are so afraid.

If we, as a society, can take the words “…keen awareness of the interdependence of all things.” to heart, we can make a stronger impact than any government grant or gift. For many years, we as a community, have acted on our most pressing needs – schedules, lack of time, what Johnnie wants, the telephone, on and on and on. We have forgotten the simple act of listening to others and offering assistance. We have not yet realized the “interdependence of all things.”

If so, our neighborhoods would all experience what a handful of successful neighborhoods are experiencing now – a renaissance of good neighbors – less crime – better home values – cleaner streets – children who have the opportunity to interact with others and have learned what was once termed the social graces as a result of that interaction.

A lot of folks don’t agree with Hillary Clinton’s mantra of “It Takes a Village,” but it is just common sense to me, especially in these hard times. Our social responsibility encompasses everyone. And, though there are times when I feel I want to shut off my phone and hibernate, I know that nine times out of ten, if I answer it, if I listen, if I take positive action to assist to remedy a wrong, I feel better for it. I feel better for it! My community is better off for it. And, whether or not it affects one person or many, the general feeling of the universe is much better off.

If we work together, compassionately, as any village in what we may term a primitive culture, we can move mountains. We can affect a single life that, in turn, can affect 100 more. It’s the reverse of the “kick-the-cat” syndrome. When someone has had a hard day, it’s difficult to walk into your home and be greeted by more problems. Problems and issues mount up on one another, and then the family kitty walks by and barfs on your shoe. That’s gone way too far and poor kitty is quickly airborne by the same shoe she barfed on. So, reverse it. Take the issues, become human again, react compassionately, help someone, make a difference in their lives and it will spread.

I had the opportunity to attend the lecture by the Dalai Lama this year and, of course, his lesson for all of us was compassion. In his writings and lectures he has stated over and over again, “If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.” It makes perfect sense; we just need to bolster each other to be able to perform like that.

It’s hard, but worth it. And the end game is one that can be celebrated by many. So, instead of kicking the cat, give her a little scratch under the chin, listen to a neighbor, and talk to the people who can make a difference. We’re all affected by the happenings around us. If someone thinks that crime three blocks away or on the next neighborhood doesn’t affect them, think again. Stop the spread before it starts by practicing compassion in your community.

Have a passion for compassion in 2007! And, a very Happy New Year for all of us!

*Thomas Merton (1915-1968) was a writer and Trappist monk at Our Lady of Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky. His writings include such classics as The Seven Storey Mountain, New Seeds of Contemplation, and Zen and the Birds of Appetite. Merton is the author of more than seventy books that include poetry, personal journals, collections of letters, social criticism and writings on peace, justice and ecumenism.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.